Európai Néppárt

Irish Presidency: Uniting Europe is the key priority. Joseph Daul MEP, Chairman of the EPP Group

Irish Presidency: Uniting Europe is the key priority. Joseph Daul MEP, Chairman of the EPP Group

2012. 11. 29.

The Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, Joseph Daul MEP, and Members of the Group's Presidency held initial discussions in Dublin today with the Irish Government ahead of Ireland's EU Presidency.

The EPP Group Presidency met An Taoiseach (Prime Minister), Enda Kenny, the Minister of State for European Affairs, Lucinda Creighton, and the Minister of State, Brian Hayes, to discuss the main priorities for the six-month EU Council Presidency.

Joseph Daul MEP praised the efforts of the Irish people during the economic crisis and outlined the importance of European unity particularly during times of crisis:

"The EPP Group has full confidence in the Taoiseach, Enda Kenny's government to lead the Irish Presidency of the EU Council from 1 January 2013. Ireland has had six successful Council Presidencies and its experience will count in bringing Europe together. The Irish Presidency has the challenging task of concluding an agreement on the EU's future budgetary and policy framework for 2014-2020. We count on them to make sure that the long-term EU budget will provide added value in terms of growth-boosting investment. It must also allow for flexibility so that the EU will be better financed through own-resources, can act effectively and channel funds where appropriate."

"Promoting sustainable economic growth, job creation and strengthening Europe's competitive advantage will be at the heart of the incoming Presidency priorities as well as restoring stability and confidence through effective economic governance in Europe. These priorities are much to the satisfaction of the EPP Group. I am sure that Mr Kenny has the political will and leadership to successfully accomplish these commitments", Mr Daul said.

Further afternoon meetings are scheduled today with Members of the Fine Gael Internal EU Affairs Committee. The EPP Group Presidency will also meet the Minister for the Environment, Phil Hogan, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Eamon Gilmore, Minister for Enterprise, Richard Bruton, and the Minister for Agriculture, Simon Coveney.

The Chairman will also participate in the European Parliament's Conference of Presidents meeting with the Irish Government tomorrow.